Back to the Drawing Table

2017 #ROW80 Round 2: Update #1

The last week of March, I did some planning for my CampNaNo story.  I’m a mix of a planner and a panster, but I was comfortable with the amount of facts I knew about my story to start writing.

Then, April 1st arrived and I wrote 139 words. What happened? You wondered. I realized that what I had planned wasn’t the story I wanted to tell. It was just a simple, linear account of how characters one and two make it to the end. I got bored thinking about writing it.

So, now what? I took the last couple of days to figure out what I want to include in the story. This book is also my first novel length story and the start of a three-book series. I had to sit back and think about the connection between all the volumes, the main characters, their relationships, love lives, and most importantly, the obstacles that would try to interfere with their happily ever after.

I kept everything I had but started my planning stage once again. Better now than halfway down the first draft. And since you know I love reference guides, I looked over the Snowflake Method. I have a similar outline process, less involved, but this is a good starting point if you find out that your story needs something more.

I’m probably going to plan/outline/plot for a couple more days, and then write like the wind.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 Logo

A Round of Words in 80 days is the writing challenge that knows you have a life.

3 thoughts on “Back to the Drawing Table

  1. Denise D. Young says:

    This happens to me all the time. I find if I get too consumed by meeting word count goals, I’ll push a story in a direction it’s not meant to go. Sometimes slowing down for a little while and simply listening to our characters is exactly what we need. I’m glad you understand your process well enough that you caught it early in the drafting process. Good luck!

    Like

  2. shanjeniah says:

    For some reason, Snowflake didn’t work for me. I think it’s about the back-and forth approach between plot and character. Maybe it’s because my natural process is very different….but I do know how it feels to find a method that works with my brain. Hooray for you – may the next round of planning bring moe life to your novel! =)

    Slices of an Unschooling Life
    @shanjeniah
    Indie Writer, Mom-in-Chief, and Joyful Learning Facilitator
    Shan Jeniah’s Lovely Chaos

    Like

  3. Beth Camp says:

    Diving into Camp NaNo’s writing challenge can take you to unexpected places. I have used NaNoWriMo several times to simply focus on the story (I’m more of a pantser than a plotter). The three-novels-planned-all-at-once probably wouldn’t work for me, as I’m on Book 3 of my series and still discovering new insights about my characters and their stories (with teasers for the next book emerging). But I see real advantages in being able to map out that plot and get the story rolling. Looking forward to an update on what happens with your story. Make it a good month!

    Like

Leave a Reply

