References & Refreshers

2017 #ROW80 Round 2: Update #6 | 10 Minute Novelist: Update #16

My reviews and blog schedules still going strong. I even have a chance to read just for the fun of it, as I mentioned on my last post. I have been organizing all those ideas I have and trying to find some order–prioritizing series I want to finish and projects I can’t wait to start.

Also, I read two reference books. First, Creating Character Arcs by K.M. Weiland which I got with the audio version included. Why? Because it’s easier to listen to the content and think about my story at the same time. Then, I can go back and review the text when I’m ready to write down what I know about my book. And the second was a re-read, Writing Faster by L.A. Witt. This is more of a pep talk book since the content is pretty standard.

They work well together because you want to have your character arc and book structure set before you look for alternatives to write faster. For me, it’s more about sitting down and start writing. After I know what I want to do, it’s easy to produce the words. I normally write one manuscript, no drafts. But, I’m trying to approach my next story as draft one. Perhaps this way I’d have an easier time deciding what to write afterward.

For the next week, I plan to continue with my reviews, blogs, and start pinpointing my next project. I’m not sure if I want to go with short stories to be published over the holidays or a novel. Will see which plot bunny wins the battle.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 LogoTen Minute Novelists

 

Leave a Reply

