Nesting

2017 #ROW80 Round 2: Update #7

I  realized earlier today that I’m the nesting stage of my writing project. I have four kids so I’m very familiar with the days before labor in which you start the last preparations. You try to get everything ready, clean and organize because you know the next couple of weeks are going to be hard, busy, and exhausting.

That’s where I am–looking forward to my next story for the first time since October of 2016. In Sunday’s update, I mentioned two reference books I read and at the moment, I’m going over two others, Romancing the Beat by Gwen Hayes and Take off Your Pants: Outline Your Books for Faster, Better Writing by Libbie Hawker.

Also, I created a spreadsheet with all the project I have already titled and with summaries. Yes, I have way too many, but I tried to organize them according to preference and pending series. This way, I don’t feel guilty putting aside a project and working in the next one. Instead of coming up with more plot bunnies, I have them contain for a little longer.

There are a couple more days in the month and I’m using them to finally finish my next novel outline. In the end, I hope to have everything ready to write the book, plus a comprehensive outline template I can use for the next book. I think what takes me the longer when writing is getting everything ready to start writing. Will see how this goes.

I have written three book reviews and three blog posts this week. I have exercised for about an hour every day, and I’m taking time away from the computer. Overall, I’m having a good week. 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 Logo

A Round of Words in 80 days is the writing challenge that knows you have a life.

 

2 thoughts on “Nesting

  1. Beth Camp says:

    Thank you for continuing to post those titles of books that are useful in this planning/plotting stage. I’m pretty much in the same spot as I wait for beta readers’ comments, so I’m shifting to writing a prequel (very short) and a novella sequel (more fun). But I’m also experimenting with different ways to get that planning on paper before writing. I do use tables instead of spread sheets so I can work within Word, but it’s kind of a spread sheet approach. May the week continue to go well for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

