Series Planning

2017 #ROW80 Round 2: Update #8 | 10 Minute Novelist: Update #17

I have three series started, but this is the first time I’m taking the time to look at all the books and how they would be connected. Before, I wrote stories in the same world, but there wasn’t a series arc/plot.

I finally decided to dig a little deeper. I have been handwriting everything I know about the stories romance arc, external arc, and the overall series. So far, so good. Now that I have a better idea of where I want to go and the main players, I’m ready to start outlining. And perhaps, doing some writing.

I’m taking a little bit of everything I have read and I’m looking forward to seeing if this new approach makes a difference when the writing goes into full mode.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 LogoTen Minute Novelists

2 thoughts on “Series Planning

  1. Beth Camp says:

    Thanks for this look into how you are thinking about your series. I never thought of arcs like this (even though I’m on my third book in my series!). What moves me forward is thinking about whose story needs to be told next and why (and what’s happening in my time period since this is historical fiction). So my series is connected in rather a loose way — until now! So the series as a whole has an emotional arc. Interesting. I’ll have to do some research . . . Have a great week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

