Small Steps

2017 #ROW80 Round 2: Update #9| 10 Minute Novelist: Update #18

As I’m writing this, I’m listening to On Writing by Stephen King. It had been recommended to me many times, but I never had the chance to get to it. It’s not a regular writing guide. It’s part memoir and part opinion about writing structure. The one thing I’m taking from it is how he combine his life experiences into his stories.

I have only listened to two stories by King: The Colorado Kid and 11/22/63: A Novel. And like most people, I have watched several of the movie adaptations. But what called my attention is how much of his high school years’ anecdotes are part of the 11/22/63 book. It’s easy to see how we can make a character believable and interesting by giving it a quasi-real background story.

I’m still getting ready to start writing my next novel, but I’m liking the way it’s going. Less about the amount of words and how fast I can complete it and more about the different arcs and characters.

This week, I decided to start decluttering my days. I have dropped some of my daily posts; including my Wednesday update. I’m keeping the Sunday going because I love the interaction and having a group of people to talk about my week, but two posts a week are a bit redundant at the moment. I might go back to it but since I need to start getting ready to move out of state over the summer, I’m trying to be more effective.

I’m also moving away from online writing groups and social media in general. I’m trying to guard my writing time and trying to be more focus. As someone commented before, there were things distracting me that needed to be taken care of before I move forward.

I think I’m finding a good balance between real life, healthy eating & exercise, and story planning/writing. Plus, I prioritized the stories I want to write and set soft deadlines. I’m starting slow and small but in the end, it seems to be showing the beginning of a more cohesive story.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 LogoTen Minute Novelists

2 thoughts on “Small Steps

  1. shanjeniah says:

    I like to start big projects and changes slowly, with baby steps. Makes it easier if all I have to do at first is dip in my toes, rather than do a high dive.

    Best of luck with all the activity…sounds like you’re on a good path! See you again Sunday! =)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beth Camp says:

    I sometimes miss reporting in for ROW80 on Wednesdays for precisely that same reason — feeling the need to declutter and keep writing as the primary focus. I hope your novel is percolating right along. Mine is out for beta comments so I’m playing around with Randy Ingermanson’s SNOWFLAKE method for plotting (I’m using it for a novella), and learning so much that I hadn’t anticipated. And, yes, Stephen King’s writing is excellent. Hope to see you at ROW80.

    Like

Leave a Reply

